Android App User Reviews

skype soon to be a thing of the past...

  • App review for ooVoo Video Call, Text & Voice
  • Posted by dinnison1 February 06, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

The fam and I have been using ooVoo on the computer now for a few years. And it's true, 8 out of 10 skype users do prefer ooVoo. I expect this beta version to launch full soon! Especially with front cameras and 4G.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Yelp against Google Places

  • App review for Yelp
  • Posted by arvid February 06, 2011
  • Recommended for Foodies, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Social Butterflies or Film/TV Fans

In some instances much better then Google Places. You need a good restaurant, Yelp can help. You need a garage or petrol station? Yelp can help. The Yelp website in the palm of your hand, providing you the information you need wherever you are, when you need it. Good to have on your phone just in case or to help you decide while going out for dinner!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Pricy, but good

Sure it's more expensive than most games, but this does a great job of replicating footy on the Android. Finally a good soccer game to match iPhone rivals!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Express refill is the best!

  • App review for Walgreens
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek February 04, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Students, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This app is one of the best store apps I've used because it's about more than gimmicks and ads. It's CONVENIENT. Not only can you do the usual store-app things like find a location, get a number, and check hours - you can scan your Walgreens prescription with your phone and order a refill right from the app. You can send photos from your phone right to Walgreens for printing too!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

the best places/persons/gas/ etc..search!

  • App review for Poynt
  • Posted by dinnison1 February 02, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Much better than the other search listing/places/ gas, movies, events, etc. Can use GPS to map and distance, email, call... add to your contacts and favorites. Too easy, saves time.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Excellent!

  • App review for 106.9 The Light
  • Posted by ldybrknwing February 02, 2011
  • Recommended for Parents, Students, Music Fans, Shopaholics or Career People

Great app! Love the station anyway, and the app REALLY adds to the enjoyment of listeningn to my favorite Christian music, and teaching programs. Thanks for a truly wonderful app!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Keeps kitty organized

Easy-to-use and especially great if you have more than one pet to keep track of! It has ads but they're not too obtrusive.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Victorious Video - Deceptive Developer

VPlayer is the best video player on the Android Market. The controls are innovative and easy to use. The playback quality is great and the versatility is outstanding.

VPlayer can play all of my avi, mp4, and other video files that the stock video player can't handle. I no longer have to convert my files to fit the format of my phone. I can just transfer the raw file from my computer to my SD Card and play the video.

The only issue I have with VPlayer is the "bait and swtich" technique it used on the Android Market. When I first discovered this app in it's beta version, the developer claimed that VPlayer "would remain free forever".

A few weeks later, the app updated automatically to it's current "free trial" version and forced me to pay to continue to use the app.

I'm not against spending money on a quality app. However, if you claim that your product is going to "remain free forever" and then you go back on that statement, then you're bound to disappoint a lot of people who support your product.

Well, as testimony to how good the app is, I purchased the full version (despite feeling bamboozled).

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Social Marketing

  • App review for Foursquare
  • Posted by worldwidewonder February 02, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Students, Shopaholics, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Foursquare basically feeds on the desire for people to be seen at trendy places. Since I live in Fabulous Las Vegas, it's easy to see why this app is important for those people to have on their mobile device.

The app itself is good but not great. It's simple to use and it looks decent on my G2. If you have the urge to broadcast your location to the people in your social circle, then you'll enjoy the ease in which you can do so with the Foursquare app for Android.

Personally, I don't see why anyone needs to know that I'm at Best Buy on a Tuesday afternoon. But, to each his own.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Pouvez-vous traduire cette

Price: free

Pros: if you speak french you know what the title says. If you don't speak french and you had this app, you could use it to find out it says "can you translate this". It works for numerous languages. Not only does it write out the translation but can say out for you too. Can be really handy if your in a foreign place.

Cons: I don't speak french, so I assume it says "can you translate this".

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Underlying technology

  • App review for eSpeak for Android
  • Posted by arvid January 30, 2011
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Used to support Google translate and allows you to speak to your phone and it to speak back to you. Useless by itself :)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Where is the thunder

  • App review for BoemBoem
  • Posted by arvid January 30, 2011
  • Recommended for Outdoors Enthusiasts

App shows a map and displays where thunderstorms are currently happening. The idea is nice but the loading time is killing (even on Wifi)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

best app manager

  • App review for Appkik
  • Posted by juliansark30 January 29, 2011
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

the update is good, this app is terrific

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

App is missing!!!

Error message: "The request item could not be found" too bad cause I really want it.

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Underwhelming

I wish I could love this, but the inaccuracy of the deals annoys me. On the main screen today, for example, I am told I get $25 off a $100 purchase at Sports Authority. When I click on that, I see what I actually get is a $10 cash card when I spend $50. I frequently see these kinds of discrepancies in this app.

My other gripe is seeing Shopkick specials that aren't just for Shopkick. I walked into Best Buy and found my Shopkick special on an iPod Nano bunudle was just a store special, offered to everyone.

Boo.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Multiple games

It lets you play 50 separate games at once, so you don't have to worry if an opponent is taking too long to make a move. Very neat if you're a chess buff.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Browser to watch out for.

The second this browser app stops crashing on a regular basis on my Motorola Droid is the second I switch over permanently from the standard browser and Skyfire. Why? Well, a number of reasons including the fact that it saves your tabs when it *does* crash, it has a wide range of add-ons, including Sharaholic (my favourite non-mobile browser add-on), and most importantly, Firefox sync lets you sync the tabs between multiple computers and your phone. Obviously, it has to improve its basic functionality before I'm ready to make the switch, but with a big-name browser like Firefox, I'm sure we won't have to wait too long.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Thomas Guide? What's that?

  • App review for Maps
  • Posted by Garick January 21, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Gamers, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Gone are the days of yesteryear. Google Maps with your GPS turned on will get you to most anywhere you need to go. Integrated with Navigate to give you turn by turn vocal directions along with estimated time as well as a Street View so you can see pictures of the place you're trying to get to.

Works mostly well... could be refined to be a bit more accurate and possibly accounting for traffic times as well.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Especially for geeks

If you're a root user or even just hardcore into customizing your phone, you've probably heard of the XDA community. And if you haven't, you SHOULD. This is their official app for navigating their incredibly helpful forums.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Checking in has never been so fun

  • App review for Foursquare
  • Posted by VA1N January 20, 2011
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Foursquare has come a long way since it's inception. In the beginning, only a handful of users were checking in when they went places and sharing it to their friends. The friends you had were either the hardcore checkin in people or those that downloaded the app, made an account, and never used it again. Push forward a few years and now everyone and their mother is checking in at places. The service has really taken off and companies are really embracing the product. Some of my favorite stores offer discounts for the "mayor" of the place (the person who checks in the most) and other stores are following.

If you don't mind broadcasting your location to your friends and can carry your phone with you at all times then this is a great free app to own.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No