Android App User Reviews

It's all in the +

  • App review for Google+
  • Posted by MikaelaLynn July 15, 2011
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I've been hearing about Google+ for awhile now, but had no clue what it was all about. Well. The other day I was invited to check it out! While I've only had a few days to look it over so far, I'd day it's going to be a big competitor for Facebook.

The widget is pretty streamlined, and makes it easy to directly post a picture or a thought on your page. As a Google girl all around (Android, Gmail, etc...) I love that my Google+ links directly to my gmail account.

The basic setup is pretty familiar if you've used FBook or Twitter, there's a feed and photos. There's also 'circles' where you have the option of limiting en masse what certain people can see of your page. So your boss can't see what you did Friday night and your professional acquaintances don't get bogged down with your 'deep thoughts.'

One of the coolest things I'm super excited to try out is the Huddle. It's a get together with friends...without leaving your house! It's a group messaging with voice and video options! I can't wait to try it!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

BlackJack!

I haven't been a card gamer person but this game is neat. The app interface is clean and easy to use and helps you learn how to play blackjack.

The only problem I had when I installed this app was quickly fixed by the developer.

I like the 3D interface and that you can change the game mode level. Since I'm new to the game it's nice to play a simple game but I can still hand this over to my friends who do play BlackJack and they can still play a competitive game.

If you like card games give this one a try!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Silliest battery widget ever

  • App review for BathingCat
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek July 08, 2011
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I wanted a battery and temperature widget for my tablet and I got this... how do you resist a cat in a bathtub? You can customize the look of the cat, give it milk (it will complain when hungry), and it talks to you. Sometimes it's a little snarky (it told me my hair looks weird), but the battery reading is on target and I think the temp readout is as well. A fun alternative to standard battery widgets.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Full of WIN!

  • App review for Google+
  • Posted by LadyX July 06, 2011
  • Recommended for Parents, Students, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

As with any new and exciting app or technology I was very excited when I was invited to Google+ and when I found out there was an app I couldn’t wait to try it out.

This app is amazing! It’s fluid and intuitive, which is a lot like Google+ as a whole. I was impressed that as soon as the Google+ beta launched and was available to sign up this app was in the market. No waiting and no hassle.

After I installed this app I noticed two new icons – Google+ and Huddle. The first icon is a portal into the main app:

Stream – This is your news feed for the different streams that you have. Your circles, people physically close to you (this uses GPS if you have it) and incoming (people not in your circles but that have you in their circles).

Huddle – This feature is offered exclusively on the Android devices for now. It’s very similar to your phones messaging app. Unfortunately it doesn’t integrate with Google Talk (yet?)

Photos – These are obviously your pictures. However Google+ brings with it a neat feature called Instant Upload. This does exactly what you think it would – instantly upload any picture you take with your phone to your Google+ account. You’ll still have to share it if you want other people to share it but you can do that from your phone or your computer.

Profile – This is obviously your profile.

Circles – This will show you all the different circles you have and allow you to add, move and delete users and circles.

All in all this app and service is still in beta but I think there is huge promise for the future things it will bring and I for one cannot wait!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Zipcar

  • App review for Zipcar
  • Posted by Irishgirl87 July 05, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Students

The Zipcar app is Zipcar's webiste on the go. You can search for cars that are near you, book one or extend a reservation. A fun extra feature is that you can also honk the horn, and lock and unlock the doors.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Drag Racing

Race away! Learn the basic mechanics of racing and how to drive stick shift. Highly Recommend!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Art Brussels

  • App review for Art Brussels
  • Posted by Irishgirl87 July 04, 2011
  • Recommended for News Junkies or Social Butterflies

Every year in April, Art Brussels welcomes thousands of professionals, collectors and art lovers from all over the world.
Art Brussels is the European platform for upcoming talents in the field of contemporary art and focuses on established galleries representing a selection of their highest-quality paintings, sculptures, photography, video and installations. With that said, the Art Brussels app allows you to gain access to all the practical information about events, find a session and view floorplans

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Invisible, yet Alert

  • App review for Facebook
  • Posted by Gabellini June 27, 2011
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This App works great for me since I don't like being online but at the same time if someone is writing on my wall or sending me a message I like to be alerted so I can jump online and reply. It has worked flawlessly for me so far so I barely ever use my computer to access my account.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Unpredicatably alarming

  • App review for GM Alarm
  • Posted by diablolita June 15, 2011
  • Recommended for Students, Career People or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This free app randomly chooses a melody from the internet and wakes you with it - and then every subsequent time chooses a different sound. You can set categories and save alarm info so you know what woke you up. Also you can Tweet as soon as you wake up ("I just woke up!"). A cute take on alarms that will always keep you guessing.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

gear up for the casino!

This is the best and most realistic Blackjack app for Android. Beautiful UI, lots of different play modes, great 3D graphics, create your own casino, fully customizable, holds 10 user profiles... the list goes on. This is a super-fully featured version of Blackjack. There are glitches, but the developer is on it and updating with fixes regularly. Recommend!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The Future Of Books Has Arrived

Paper pages finally have become obsolete as virtual books make the onto my phone, which is the greatest thing that could happen for me as a student because I absolutely despise carrying books around. Now I can whip out my phone and read a few pages anytime, anywhere.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Absolutely must have!

  • App review for Gallery 3D
  • Posted by LadyX June 12, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I cannot say enough good things about this app. I found it one day pre-installed on a ROM I had tried out. I hated the ROM but LOVED this app. I was ecstatic the day it got released to the App store.

To put simply this is the most beautiful, useful, and easy to use gallery app for your phone (and I can't wait to use it on my new tablet).

Some of the neat features:

Pinch and expand: Don't remember what's in one of your galleries? Just grab both ends of the gallery with two fingers and pull them apart and the gallery will scroll through picture by picture.

Ambient background: When you open this app the background is actually one of your pictures only super blurred. So if you have a picture of a bright red flower then your background inside of this app will be tinted red.

Easy Sharing: Once you've opened a picture you have so many options including "sharing" via MMS, Facebook, Bluetooth, and many more!

Hands down you have to try this app.

The only things I'd love to see in a future release is the ability to move pictures around to new galleries. IE pictures from the Camera gallery to another gallery.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Coffee Shop Finder

Coffee Shop Finder lets you to find a cafe anywhere in the world.
Not only can you search a coffee shop through "My Location" but you can also gain easy access by registering coffee shops of your interest on clicking on "My Shop" This app is great for people who love going to cafes and coffee shops.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Stand or hit?

App lets you test your blackjack skills against the house using rules from many famous casinos. If you'd like you can count cards, create custom rules, or bone up on strategy. Much better than many of the simple/shallow 21 games out there.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Needs more info

This app costs US$0.99 and has over 100 famous paintings by classic artists like Michaelangelo, Rembrandt, and Van Gogh. You can zoom in to see detail, search, play games. Would be great if info on the artists was available - also would like to be able to set the paintings as wallpaper.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Baggage

Useful app to make packing easier.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great app to keep track of my health data

  • App review for MFC Gold
  • Posted by CaroleJ May 06, 2011
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Parents or Career People

I first tried the free version and loved the fact I could keep track of my weight, blood pressure and blood glucose using one single application. I bought the gold version to be able to upload my data to Google Health and it really works! I am now able review my progress with my doctors and I feel I am in control of my chronic conditions.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

One stop shop

  • App review for Yelp
  • Posted by jelagasse May 06, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Students or Budget Hawks

Besides the fact that it has info not only on nearby restaurants, but also everything from gas stations to yoga studios, this app is also engaging and fun. The most interactive feature, monocle, uses your phone's camera. As you swivel around in your chair, monocle will display on your screen all the restaurants in that direction, along with whether or not they are open and how far away they are. I also like the sales and discounts category.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

great downloads

  • App review for 4shared
  • Posted by zakmassgamer May 03, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers, Students, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

watch the hackers.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Track your own workout

Situp Helper uses sensors built into your phone and profile to detect situps which means all you need to do is hold the device , (ex. on your chest, on your stomach or behind your head) and it will detect your situps or ab crunches!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No