Android App User Reviews

PrinterShare

  • App review for PrinterShare™ Premium Key
  • Posted by jimd41 September 14, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies, Book Readers, Workout Junkies, Students, Shopaholics, Tech/Social Networking Junkies, Career People or Budget Hawks

Whoa! I downloaded the free version of PrinterShare and printed (wirelessly) a test page and immediately bought the pro version. PrinterShare sees my HP wireless printer and works flawlessly. If you try the free version and it won't print a test page, follow the directions that appear with the free app and see if that works for you. If it does, buy it. You'll find all sorts of uses for it. Motorola Droid

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Tricky Trap Detector

  • App review for Trapster
  • Posted by binggeli September 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Students or Outdoors Enthusiasts

First of all, this is not a radar detector. This is a small app that collects information from its users to update local maps with commonly known speed trap hideouts.

I found that the map was hard to read, especially while driving, although the GPS (showing you where you're driving) is pretty good.

There's a bit of a sign-up process involved, and you need to activate the app with a code that you get for free through e-mail.

I'm still trying to figure out how useful this app is, as it obviously doesn't relate to real-time and heavily depends on the user-base for accuracy and updates.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very Convenient - but no refresh button / indication

  • App review for CNET
  • Posted by coolsam September 08, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies

I enjoyed reading on cnet's application. Browsing through all the channels as well as the twitter feeds (combined as well as per editor) is very easy. Look and feel is great.

However some minor points are as follows:
(1) when I open the app I do not get any indication that it is being updated in the background. So I don't know whether to wait for new headlines to load or exit because there is nothing new to read.

(2) It does not change color for already read news items.

(3) There is no refresh button to force loading of new headlines.

Would look for similar app for CNET reviews.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It's ok but.....

I liked the over all application, with a huge exception that once you open the app and start it, it then runs in th background automatically. I use task killer Pro and that does not shut it down. You have to go back into the application and manually exit from it. The weather channel application does not require all that work.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Heart Rate Meter

  • App review for Instant Heart Rate
  • Posted by Rapier August 30, 2010
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Parents or Students

I must say that I really never use this app however it is a must for nurses. its amazing how accurate it is. phones with built in flash work the best. you put your thumb on the camera and the camera reads color changes everytime blood is pumped through your thumb. the software then calculates the heart rate per minute. its an excellent app and i say again, its amazing how accurate it is. My GP says he will dump his BB and get an Android phone, it has quite a few great medical apps and this is one of them.

If this review was helpful, pls rate it :)

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

nothing but blue skys

  • App review for The Weather Channel
  • Posted by darrylb August 29, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies, Outdoors Enthusiasts or Career People

weather channel, affectonately aka WC, is my vote for the best weather app. it has a small selection of very good widgets. it gives you radar, live, moving radar. it gives you present weather, hourly forecast, one and a half day forecast and ten day forecast. i live in the chilly, snowy center of wisconsin. i have used wc on the desktop for at least 2 years and everyday since i got my evo. wc has been absolutely accurate. that applies down to the hourly forecast. i am always able to dress appropriate, grag an umbrella, drive cautiosly, you know what i mean. from time to time there is this tiny, red, rotating icon. click on that and get a special bulletin that highlights severe weather that may not or may have been in the regular forecast. Super !!

i trialed most of the known weather apps on my evo.
WC was just superior

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Worthless

Whats the use of this app if you can't watch any netflix movies?
Don't even waste your time with this app. Netflix will just have to come up with their "official" app that will allow us to watch movies on our android device.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

a slow Hack-N-Slash with a poor community

I loved the idea of a good android RPG and Parallel kingdom sounded amazing. Unfortunately my time on there has been mired by clicking on random monsters, automatically killing them and listening to hordes of myspace tweens make infantile dirty jokes and hate each other with a passion normally reserved for Justin Bieber fans. The tutorial wasn't helpful in key points, and the community was more interested in trash talk over the help channel.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Top Shelf News

  • App review for NPR News
  • Posted by brendan_o August 23, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies or Students

Great application for getting your daily news. Killer feature is the ability to create custom playlists of news on the go.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Google Tasks

This app fills in the gap left by Android's baseline apps. We already get GMail and Calendar, but Google Tasks are missing. This app files that voice. It's syncing is instant. Couldn't live without it.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great reading tool

Now I can read on the go!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

You can't NOT have this

  • App review for Barcode Scanner
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek August 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Gamers, Students, Shopaholics or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Barcode scanner is a wonderful, wonderful thing. Not only does it make app downloads quick and easy (scan QR codes instead of searching the Market), it's a great tool to use with Google Shopper when you're trying to find the best price on an item. It also works with some nutrition apps to give you information about the food you're eating.

Get this now.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

How did I get along without this?

  • App review for App Categories
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek August 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

If you have more apps than you can count on one hand, App Categories can make you a happy camper. It allows you to make folders to sort those millions of apps, categorized however you want. Just load the folders onto one of your screens and when you open it, you get all the apps in that category. I made one for social, one for shopping, one for sports... it's SO much nicer than having to dig through that massive list or fill every screen with shortcuts. I'm a fan.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I can't help it. Not a fan.

This app SEEMS like a good idea. And I haven't deleted it yet because it's fun to try it out once inawhile and see if it recognizes ANYTHING. But this app, which uses the barcode scanner to capture an image of an item and look up its information, doesn't seem to know much.

If it can't scan and recognize a red Swingline stapler - with the logo showing - I think it needs a little more work.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sideloading FTW!

Aldiko is the much-loved e-reader app that preceded iBooks, Kindle, Nook and Kobo in the mobile device world, and many Palm users still swear by its superiority. It starts you off with a friendly library look, and comes pre-loaded with many familiar free titles, organized into “shelves” by themes.
There’s no shop connected to Aldiko, and the app DOES allow sideloading of epub files from the SD card in your phone. In this way, it’s a perfect complement to a reader app that doesn’t support that function. Another bonus is the night/day option for reading, which allows you to choose if you’d like black on white or white on black texts. The page turns aren’t as flashy, but they’re quick and competent. As with other mobile reader apps, Aldiko also provides options for font face and size.
Without a huge retail store behind it, Aldiko isn’t entirely in the same class as other e-reader apps, but it looks like a great supplemental app for bringing in your other content.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Tune Wiki

  • App review for TuneWiki - Lyrics for Music
  • Posted by diamondmind50 September 20, 2014
  • Recommended for Book Readers, Students, Music Fans, Career People, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This was my favorite music app over Musixmatch for awhile.. now it is defunct on the spotify desktop version

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Simplest workout app ever!

  • App review for iCountTimer Pro
  • Posted by mithiljadhav October 12, 2013
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Outdoors Enthusiasts or Sports Fans

Fast setups, no time waste setting the sets. A timer and a counter together finally.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

3D Home: A Truly 3D App Launcher!

  • App review for 3D Home
  • Posted by robomantic August 12, 2013
  • Recommended for News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

the best virtual environment UI?
presenting the Borqs 3D Home for Android

by robomantic, 12th August 2013

Ever since the arrival of the iPhone in 2007, the world has clung on to flat-design smartphone UIs, struggling to release ourselves from their tight and aged grasp. Sure, we Android users might find solace in alternative UIs, but those which truly break the mould are few and far between. The Borqs 3D Home is our long awaited answer, an extraordinary UI made available exclusively for Android. Unlike others, the 3D Home is a virtual environment UI, combining a next generation app launcher and home-screen, and radically challenges modern day smartphone conventions.

a radical and simple design

When I entered my new 3D Home, I was presented with an image of a virtual room, the walls of which contain “hanging” widgets that can be controlled and interacted with via a simple slide of the finger. On the “floor” of the virtual UI, Borqs have placed a convenient center table which contains a MS Surface tablet and a mobile phone. 3D Home is designed to afford users a high degree of customization. The widgets on both the walls and table can be easily removed, replaced and supplemented as per individual tastes and preferences. I also noted that “sliding up” on the UI screen revealed a breathtakingly beautiful panoramic roof which changes in real-time, to reflect the weather “outside.” Delightful!

powerful, custom-made features

Customizing the 3D Home doesn’t just stop at widgets. Users can even change the wallpapers to suit their style. Despite only having two stock wallpapers at the time of writing, there was nothing stopping me from decorating the walls with my own photographs, creating a rather personal and intimate platform for all my smart phone endeavours.

3D Home provides a welcome respite from old, flat-design UIs and is arousing much interest among the tech community and the general public. Don’t be fooled by its apparent simplicity; 3D Home packs in powerful functionality within a clever and easy to access design. To lend an example, selecting the TV takes you to a video editing app and tapping the speakers takes you to the music player. And the same goes for all the various items on the center table. All this testifies to the impeccable design of 3D Home.

Borqs don’t leave any detail to chance either, no matter how minute. When you select the Surface on the center table, there’s a nifty little animation showing the tablet close, thus demonstrating that it has indeed shut down. This perfect, quasi-physical 3D effect can be extended to all widgets, and is really handy for letting us know whether their apps are open or closed. This immaculate attention to detail is what really separates the Borqs 3D Home from the rest of the crowd.

summary

The Borqs 3D Home represents the very best of virtual environment UIs, combining feature rich widgets and animations to offer users a whole new 3D experience. I really liked the intuitive weather and Dock features. And I welcome the move away from a conventional, 5 icon row home-screen. Overall, I was extremely pleased with the 3D Home and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to spruce up their Android smart phones.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Vegas Style Slot machine gaming on Beautiful Islands

  • App review for Island Slots
  • Posted by 1234slotmachines June 02, 2013
  • Recommended for Gamers, Workout Junkies, Music Fans, Social Butterflies, Sports Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Play & win to Survive your way out of the Islands. The game has a very nice adventurous touch to it. I won my way out of three Islands and I keep on playing more and more...Addictive indeed!!!!

Shared my highscores on facebook and really enjoyed competing with others...

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Convenient

I love this app because I don't have to use the on/off button on my phone that can get stuck sometime.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No