Android App User Reviews

Works like a charm

  • App review for GPS Test
  • Posted by SvenGB September 14, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Outdoors Enthusiasts

what to know how many satellite are in the sky looking to position you? what to know how fast you are going? how about what the real time is to where you are located? or finally your exact location on the planet up to 3 meters? this is that app.

this works extremely well never had a fault with it.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Tracking the trip

  • App review for My Tracks
  • Posted by SvenGB September 14, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Outdoors Enthusiasts

I used this application on my trek across Canada recently and it did just what i needed. gave me distance time speed average traveling speed and all the goodies packed into one little free package. the only draw back to this program is that there is a glitch that seams to pop up when ever you are doing extended times of reccording about 300 km or more or around 3 hours. it will stop functioning till you export the file you where on and then delete it. only after you have deleted the file will it continue to record your tracks.

if they fix that this is a solid app that is great for any one wondering if that one way is faster then the other.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A great task killer

  • App review for Adao Task Manager
  • Posted by balzzzy September 11, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This app comes from the makers of File Manager, Adao Team.

Task Manager is a simple to use app that frees up memory and closes programs running in the background. I found with other task manager programs that they weren't always killing all apps. Then I found this gem and the widget is now on my home screen.

You can choose which programs to ignore so that the app doesn't accidentally close something you want to run in the background. It has easy to use settings and does a great job of killing ALL apps, not just some.

I highly recommend this app and check out the widget. It's a one touch kill of all apps and it's free. Well worth your time.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

good for quick writing

nice app. useful, but could use more different language data bases

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Browser

This browser completely replaced the default android browser for me. It support tabs and flash video and has a great UI setup for Bookmarks and browser addons. Overall I think this may be the best browser out there.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Planets orbiting never looked so cool

  • App review for Celestial Lite Live Wallpaper
  • Posted by balzzzy September 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I looked on appolicious for the full version of this app to review as I bought it but I can't seem to find it. Nevertheless, this Live wallpaper looks amazing.

Essentially the focus is on the sun as the planets of our galaxy rotate around it. In the full version you can tweak all settings which include orbital speed, solar system type, preferred view, tap view, music visualization, show stars, planet detail and frame-rate limit. When you change the default view you get a whole different perspective and it makes you feel like you are in space watching from a distance.

I recommend this live wallpaper and try out the lite version on the Market. Great job to the team at gentlemandroid.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Facebook what happened!?

  • App review for Facebook
  • Posted by balzzzy September 09, 2010
  • Recommended for Students or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

A lot of us have used Facebook. There are so many features added to Facebook all the time that to update all phone versions takes the Facebook team quite a bit of time. But Facebook has never been this bad and this full of bugs. I truly believe that this should have been left in Beta until the bugs were ironed out. We're not talking about minor bugs, we're talking about what the core of Facebook is.

Whether it's notifications not showing on time or at all, comments and posts of others that do not show up, when commenting on something it takes you out of the app on occasion, the posts that you read do not have the correct date/time sort order in the listing, screen refreshing doesn't really refresh, it can lag and be slow at peak times, force closes when you're in the middle of something, and the list seems to go on and on.

It is so bad that I uninstalled it and use the Touch Facebook in my mobile browser. Even then I'm still not completely happy with the lack of features available to me. What's worse is that there has been not much said from Facebook regarding this. Just visit the Market and read the other users comments. You will see that this is just a waste of time at the moment.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Navigating the world on your mobile

  • App review for Maps
  • Posted by balzzzy September 09, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

For those that do have Google Maps on their Android phone, then you know the power of this app.

If you don't have Google Maps on your Android phone, you are missing out on one of the most necessary and powerful applications available for your phone. The dedicated team at Google has incorporated so much thought, intelligence and flexibility into this app that you will never have to buy a GPS in your life. From directions, to voice searches, distance to location estimates, plan your route, favorites, etc, the list goes on and on. Just 10 minutes ago there was another update for distance and time for walking directions.

Well worth the time and space on your phone. Recommended by almost everyone.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Keep an eye on it...

This app displays in your notification bar and gives you a PERCENT readout on your battery life, not just a slowly-shrinking green bar. When opened, you can see what that battery means - how much talk time, standby time, internet use, and video playback time you could get from the remaining charge.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good useful app...haven't judged its effectiveness as yet

  • App review for Call Filter
  • Posted by coolsam September 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Career People

Allows you to block or silence incoming calls from unknown callers or your custom list. You can even give a prefix (i find it useful for blocking telemarketers who, I find, keep changing the last two digits). You can also provide a schedule based on TOD (time of day) and DOW (day of week). I would give five stars if it included a statistics screen to show calls filtered so that I can see directly how effective the app is. Right now I have no simple way to verify (only installed this yesterday)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

the only weather app I use

Wonderful all around weather app. The current temp and conditions sit in my tray and I can bring up a radar to view incoming showers. Also gives weather alert push notifications.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sudoku fanatic? Look no further.

  • App review for OpenSudoku
  • Posted by balzzzy September 07, 2010
  • Recommended for Gamers or Students

OK I know what you're thinking, not another Sudoku app. But I have to say OpenSudoku tops others on the Market I've played...and man how I've played a lot of them.

First of all, it's free and it has a link for additional free puzzles of all difficulties. Secondly, no ads. Thirdly, the UI is fluid, customizable and one of the best I've seen.

In OpenSudoku you can't really make mistakes selecting squares to fill in. The UI allows the player to slide their finger across the grid and it highlights vertically and horizontally what square you are about to select. You can choose to have the numbers displayed to enter your solution, or select from a pop up with your numbers listed there.

Give OpenSudoku a chance. I promise it will be the last one you install.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

its ok...

  • App review for PayPal
  • Posted by crdavis2009 September 07, 2010
  • Recommended for Students or Shopaholics

i mainly use paypal in conjunction with online purchases...so i would be nice that i could pay for my purchases via this app rather than through the browser on my cell.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Know where you've been

  • App review for My Tracks
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek September 07, 2010
  • Recommended for Outdoors Enthusiasts

I tested this app out on a 5.5 mile hike and was really pleased with how it not only mapped my route, it kept pretty accurate stats on speed,elevation, and other info. The waypoint feature lets you mark certain spots along the way - handy if you need to backtrack. This app interfaces with Google so you can upload and share your treks easily.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Finding internet connections on the go

  • App review for Wifi Analyzer
  • Posted by balzzzy September 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

So most of us have Wifi at home, work or school or have used Wifi at some point. Sometimes we also want to connect to internet connections at family and friends houses as well as at local shops, restaurants and wherever else there is Wifi. But how do you know what Wifi connections are around?

This app shows you what Wifi hotspots are around and it can instantly connect you to unlocked internet connections. You can also keep a full list of connections for home, work, school, wherever. When you turn your Wifi on this app will connect you to the one that you are closest too.

Definitely recommended and it's free.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Saving power the green way

  • App review for GreenPower Free Battery Saver
  • Posted by balzzzy September 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

If you have a cellphone and you use it a lot, chances are you are charging your battery more often than the average person. Some even twice a day. Android offers you a handy little way to view where your power is being used, but what if there was a way to improve your battery life and still use the phone as you always have.

Green Power is that app. Green Power manages your Wifi and Mobile network connections more efficiently than Android itself does. I tested this thing out and believe it or not this German made app actually extended my battery life by about 30%. That's a big enough difference for me. Download it and give it a shot.

Tried, tested and true. Green Power is definitely greener.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Awesome!!!

  • App review for Qik Video
  • Posted by crdavis2009 September 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Public or private live streaming via your phone!!! Easy access in uploading to YT etc. What else can I say?!? Great great app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not a fan..

the app is nice to look at...but it totally drains your battery. can be glitchy as well.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Serves it Purpose...

  • App review for Bible
  • Posted by crdavis2009 September 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Book Readers

Multi versions of the Bible available.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Skyfire

  • App review for Skyfire Web Browser 4.0
  • Posted by magikilwizard September 03, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Though still in beta, the skyfire browser offers ability to view video within the browser, unlike the default browser of droid or opera mini browser.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No