Android App User Reviews

Cute and fun but not practical

  • App review for TypeWriter
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek September 28, 2010
  • Recommended for Book Readers, Gamers, Students or Career People

This is a fun little app that basically acts as a substitute keyboard you can use in texting and emailing. It has a retro typewriter look and sound. It's a novelty, but I don't love it for everyday work.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

So beautiful!

  • App review for 3D Gallery
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek September 23, 2010
  • Recommended for Parents, Students, Shopaholics, Social Butterflies, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

What a gorgeous interface! It's so fun to flip through pictures with this instead of the stock gallery on my Evo. I wish it loaded my albums a little faster though - I don't even have THAT many, and it's still not quite as fast as the old basic app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

See what's running

  • App review for Spare Parts
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek September 23, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Spare Parts is a pretty comprehensive app for power management, letting you know what's running on your system and how much memory those apps are using. You might be surprised at what's slurping away at your battery in the background!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Security

Great app to keep your Android powered device safe.
Scans phone and everything it, weekly or daily. Makes sure all Apps are safe after download from the Android Market.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Mobile Browser yet

This browser puts a Google chrome like interface in your mobile device, with tabbing, bookmarking, tab browsing, but with a good catch- It's UI is very optimized for the hand held touchscreen. It supports pinch zoom, easy navigation and big enough buttons yet good scaling, gesture commands (you can draw a shape like say an 'f' to quickly go to facebook).
Further it supports many add-ons, themes and widgets. The only downside is that some of these very cool add-ons (like password manager) require money for full features. Limited free versions of addons are still fully functional with limits to numbers (like passwords, or open tabs). Though it can still use functionality of the native android browser which is pretty good by itself.
It would be more of a 4.5 rating if the browser scrolling were a little more smoother and add-ons were completely free. Also the developer is working on optimizing performance and I'm sure with Android 2.2 will will go crazy fast. It performs great on my DroidX running stock Android 2.1

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Finally a photo-bucket compatible application!

  • App review for JustPictures!
  • Posted by ChargerIIC September 20, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I've had trouble finding an app that'll let me show my wife's picture gallery, which include our wedding photos. After some trouble with other applications I came across Just Pictures which also advertised photobucket support. Unlike the other apps I tried including the official application it actually has a working username search, letting my pull down my wife's photo albums for viewing. The application loads pictures quickly, has a easy to navigate GUI and supports most the basic features like pinch-to-zoom. It supports multiple services like picasa and facebook, although I haven't tried those features yet. Now if I can just find a webshots-compatible app...

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Top Shelf

  • App review for Fruit Ninja
  • Posted by brendan_o September 20, 2010
  • Recommended for Book Readers, Gamers or Students

A nearly identical port from one of the most popular iOS games is finally on the Android platform. Simple and addicting fun, Fruit Ninja will provide hours of entertainment for a very low price. I give this my highest recommendation.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Nice alpha app

I have been looking for a robust FLV player. While RockPlayer works, the audio, on many FLV files in my library is significantly distorted. Like many FLV players on mobile devices (I also use a BB, an iPOD Touch, and an Archos 605), the audio does not always sync correctly. I hope this developer continues to work in this app. .

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Retro fun, not very efficient

There's a reason the rotary dial is in the Smithsonian now and not on your cell phone... but just in case you miss that little whirring noise and a lengthy dialing time, there's the Rotary Dialer app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A pink punch

I'm so sick of that giant HTC clock with the flip numbers that takes up half of my homescreen. This little Androidette takes up half the space and doubles the cute.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love you.

  • App review for Maps
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek September 17, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Book Readers

I'm not sure how I got anywhere before Google Maps - first on my old Blackberry and now on my Android phone. For walking, transit, or driving directions, this is still my go-to navigation app for all the basics.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Health on the go

While it's not an everyday sort of app, this one might be nice to have around if you're ever out of town and need a little medical attention that doesn't QUITE require an ambulance. You can search hospitals around your location and find out about the best place to go for symptoms, specialties, and rankings.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Doesn't work with any of the major california grocery chains around here

ShopSavvy sounded like a great idea on paper: Scan the barcode of an item and receive the latest prices for said item in your town. My wife often shops at different grocery stores to get different deals, so this seemed like an excellent application for her to plan her shopping trips Unfortunatly none of the grocery stores in this city(Merced, CA) or in Fresno, CA are in the database. Savemart, Food4Less, Raley's, Vons, Walmart, or even Rancho San Miquel show up. Instead I'm given whatever price is available in the Kmart in Atwater, CA as the closest retailer. To add insult to injury it declared my loadf of white bread to be a copy of Barack Obama's 'Audacity of Hope', meaning I couldn't even get a search on it if I tried. Very disappointing.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

didnt work

All I get to do is select my country.
then i get a blank screen.
uninstalled.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Note Everything is NOTE WORTHY

  • App review for Note Everything
  • Posted by wines September 15, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies, Book Readers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Career People, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

this is a tremendous note taking app. This is not your grandma's notebook! You have flexibility you have never had before! Give it s try

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wonderful

Great app, a bit complex for non-technical people, but it is a tremendous help in finding wifi access points, as well as seeing which channel access points are on. Helped me find a lesser used channel to get better reception at home.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Doesn't Import

The app doesn't import my apps on Samsung Vibrant.

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very useful application for restruant finding

  • App review for Yelp
  • Posted by ChargerIIC September 15, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Book Readers, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This application sat on my phone for a while before I actually got a chance to use it. It ties your GPS to a location search to pull up the closet shops/restaurants based on your criteria and provides Yelp user reviews to help in decision making. A good application for anyone who has ambled out the movie theatre and wanted to try something new for dinner.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Buggy and non-responsive

I downloaded this app in the hopes of being able to show around my wedding photo album. Unfortunately the application refuses both my and my wife's logins (which work via the desktop computer/IE) and fails to search for users by username (just searches forever). I tried some sample searches on image types, but the images load slowly and the controls are rather quirky. It looks like I'll just have to keep waiting for a webshots android app at this point...

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Works like a charm

  • App review for GPS Test
  • Posted by SvenGB September 14, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Outdoors Enthusiasts

what to know how many satellite are in the sky looking to position you? what to know how fast you are going? how about what the real time is to where you are located? or finally your exact location on the planet up to 3 meters? this is that app.

this works extremely well never had a fault with it.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No