Android App User Reviews

Haven't used yet

I like the concept. I don't have any of these cards yet cause I don't like the idea of a pocket full of these things, even if it does save me money. Now I am going to get a few and see how this works out for me, seeing I carry my cell all the time. The 3 bars is for the idea and to actually get me thinking about getting some of these savings cards.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great!

  • App review for Skyfire Web Browser 4.0
  • Posted by Nekoyoubi October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Great browser for the Android. Probably the best.

I bounce between this and DolphinHD exclusively. Mainly this though. Not quite as "pretty" as DolphinHD, but just as functional (if not more).

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love this app, a bushel and a peck (and a becquerel and a parsec)

  • App review for ConvertPad - Unit Converter
  • Posted by CupcakesAndCode October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Students, Shopaholics, Career People, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Normally, when I need to do unit conversions (because, let's be honest, I haven't calculated centigrams since high school), I just refer to Google. I downloaded this app fully expecting to uninstall and go back to my standard Googling, but I am most definitely a convert. (Incidentally, this brings my awful pun rate up to approximately one for every 55 words).

The standards -- pounds, kilograms, inches, joules, pints, degrees -- are all present, but i was astonished at how many other categories were built into the app. There's a currency converter that can sync up with the newest rates, fuel consumption calculations, data storage, fancy engineering and physics categories that I don't even understand, and even typographical measurements!

If an app that allows you to convert from dessertspoons to ponies, or from poise to slug/ft s isn't enough? Unit Converter - ConvertPad also lets you create totally custom categories and units. So, if its important to designate that there are 42 leets in a meganerd, you can set that up.

Excuse me, I have to go convert iPhones to Droids now...

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Decent App

I like the way it suggests other apps I may have overlooked or never seen. The only thing I don't like is that it suggest apps I already have, well sort of. I have the paid Shazam Elite so it recommends Shazam, same with Camera 360 and other apps I paid for.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great!

  • App review for UK & World News
  • Posted by Nekoyoubi October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Career People or Sports Fans

This is a great BBC reader. It feels like an RSS reader that pulls all of the BCC feeds by default (rightly so, I would assume). It let you organize which BBC you're reading at the time (Americas, Asia, etc...). Also, the "Breaking News" notifications are nice as well. You won't get spammed by this app, but you will be up to date.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Google maps is a must!

  • App review for Maps
  • Posted by etherealglimpse October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks or Sports Fans

I love google maps. I almost live in it. I use it to look up directions of all the different types , cars, bikes, walking, and public transportation. It's fast and snappy. Now includes labs, so you can put layers on the maps, like your current locations, transit lines. Has the ability to integrate with latitude so you know where all your friends are. Someone late? just look them up and you'll see where they are. It's a great apps and you should definitely be using it or checking out. You can look up local businesses and look up distances. It has turn by turn directions and even though its in beta, it worked pretty well compared to my friends garmin.

I absolutely LOVE this app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Credit card payments in your pocket

  • App review for Square Register
  • Posted by etherealglimpse October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People or Budget Hawks

This is an amazing app. The future is in your pocket. I was downright stunned by the idea of accepting credit card payments from anywhere , anytime, with a smartphone. It's iphone and android compatible.

You can go to squareup.com and setup an account. They deposit up to about 1000 a week to your bank account.

No monthly fees, no contract. A small percentage is take per transaction, very similar to a merchant account.

Once you verify your identity and bank account, they will ship you a credit card reader for free!

Be ready for when your friend wants to pay you back but doesn't have the cash. Wanna take payments at the door for a party? Use a credit card! flea markets, selling small used goods, doing the odd job, farmer's market sellers. All could benefit from something as simple as this.

You should at least try it, even if you don't use it much. You will be prepared and see be in the future. I remember when credit cards used those big metal carbon copy receipts with the swipey thing. No more!!! This makes credit card processing super fast. The same or faster than any retail outlet.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

"Sorry, a server error occurred"

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by DavidAtlanta October 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Always appears whenever I load the app or try to get it to read my phone for my apps. Doesn't work right, except for the recommendations. I had to manually load all of my apps onto the website to get accurate recommendations.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Lava Ball - Now That's Rollin'

Lava Ball is an amazing game for Android. This is a tilt based ball rolling game that takes things up a notch - way up.

Visually, the app is really cool. The perspective and lighting changes as you tilt your phone and it is done so perfectly and subtly that you hardly even notice. Overall, this perspective changes gives you the impression that you are looking down into your phone at a tiny little world. The game features fully animated rolling churning lava and very retro quake like textures that fit very well with the idea of surviving a lava hell hole.

To top off the great graphics, Lava Ball provides some equally great an innovative physics. The game is accelerometer controlled and does so with what the developer calls all-axis controls. If you hold the phone flat, you can roll side to side like other apps. Hold the phone vertically and the ball falls sideways north and south so that you can roll on the walls. Turn it again 90 degrees and the ball is falling east west so that you can roll on the perpendicular walls. Turn it upside down and suddenly you are rolling on the underside of the screen. Pretty crazy!

The objective of the game is to collect all of the gems before time expires. Gems are placed though out some pretty complicated levels so this is a real challenge. Sometimes the gems are on the sides of walls so you have to roll on the walls to get them. Because you can go back and play any level at any time, Lava Ball is a great game to pick up, play for a few minutes, and then go about your business.

The game is available in the Free demo version with 4 levels and the Paid Version with 31 levels to provide hours and hours of challenge. The paid version is only $1.95.

The game is designed for high end phones (basically Drioid 1 plus) so don't expect it to run on your Backflip.

Overall, this is a great app and a bargain at $1.95.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Meh. It does the job.

  • App review for Facebook
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek October 05, 2010
  • Recommended for Students, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Every version has been an improvement so far, but this app is nowhere near fully functional. Needs improved support for posting pictures and clicking through notifications, as well as chat - which is missing entirely.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Handy for power management

Nice little widget showing battery percentage, good if you like things a little more specific than the battery bars on the stock widget.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

FOURSQUARE

  • App review for Foursquare
  • Posted by diamondmind50 October 05, 2010
  • Recommended for Students, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Probably thee most downloaded app in the last 6 months.

Some of the specials they off at some places are nice, just for checking in. Overloading and other network problems have plagued them of lately.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Scare Your Pet Away From The Cam...

Your dog might be your best friend, but chances are, she's not very great at posing for the camera. Wouldn't it be great if there were a camera app that could somehow calm your pet and coax her into facing the camera for a super cute photo? Yeah..this isn't that app.

The app description suggests that tapping the sound button will produce "your dog’s favourite sound," presumably with the intent of capturing her attention long enough for you to snap a photo. This would be marvelous if the sound produced by the app were a gentle squeak, or perhaps some approximation of the noise that a squirrel makes. The actual consequences of pressing this button are that a harsh barking sound is played, and the dog at whom this app is directed freaks out at said barking sound. By the time you're able to snap a photo (which is a challenge in its own right, as the shutter button doesn't seem to work as well as the one in the native camera app), your dog is blurring across the screen.

I suppose that if my dog and I ever become frenemies instead of best friends, I can re-install this app just to bother her (In other words? Not a chance.)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sweet Tweets

Touiteur is a snappy little Twitter client that packs in some fabulous features.

Tweets are displayed nicely in blocks. No weirdness or frills, just neat and tidy.

Toggling between the main timeline, @mentions, and direct messages is a snap (there are super convenient little buttons lining the bottom) and the field for typing new tweets pulls down from the top of the screen like a window shade.

For the follow-junkies out there who want to keep track of your absolute favorites without bothering with lists: the color-coding feature is super handy. You can assign custom colors to anyone and everyone on your list. Pro tip: stay away from pastels; the white text isn't the most visible against light/bright colors.

Touiteur is very customizable and very friendly, and is probably one of the more robust Twitter apps I've seen. I'm a fan.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Review of PDANet

  • App review for PdaNet+
  • Posted by arvid September 30, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Amazing application, without rooting your device you can tether. No skills required, just install, connect and you are done!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

OMG STOP!

  • App review for Flickr Droid (Lite)
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek September 30, 2010
  • Recommended for Students, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I would love this app for ease of Flickr sharing and management if only it didn't love to run in the background and eat my battery. I had to uninstall it to get it to go away.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great for the newbie

I just recently got my first grill and I like this app for both guidance and ideas on how to prepare whatever I picked up at the store. The step-by-step instructions on prep are really handy and easy to follow.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great GPS AP

  • App review for Waze Social GPS Maps & Traffic
  • Posted by adamsmiley September 29, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Parents, Students, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

What live traffic info from other close to you? Try Waze. You can see when roads are moving slow automatically. See when other report traffic, cops, accents... It is the best open source GPS app I have found and it is all free. Also connect to facebook, twitter and four square.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Browser I have found

  • App review for Dolphin Browser for Android
  • Posted by Tristan77 September 29, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies, Foodies, Gamers, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Since I bought my Samsung Vibrant, my first Smartphone, the first thing I was looking for was a good browser. I tried SkyFire and Opera Mini 5 and they are ok but SkyFire had some features I liked that Opera did not have and the other way around. I was using both to satisfy my browsing needs. When I installed Dolphin, it was the best of all the other browsers. Faster, beautiful, very customizable, the interface very good and the gesture system amazing. In 1 days of using it I was convince this is the browser I was looking for and uninstalled SkyFire and Opera Mini 5.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

SO worth the money!

This is such a great app for customizing the look of your phone and it's really easy to use. You use it in LauncherPro and there are TONS of options for icons and dock backgrounds in all sorts of colors and designs. It's especially nice that there's a forum where you can request new icons to add to the set as well.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No