Android App User Reviews

Capture anything you need to remember!

  • App review for Evernote
  • Posted by arvid October 25, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Parents, Students, Shopaholics or Book Readers

This app is an extension of the website and allows you to snap anything you need to remember just with your phone. The app integrates seamlessly with the website and allows you to quickly access notes that are already in the cloud.

You can also search the stored notes from within the mobile app and use the OCR-functionality of Evernote.

I use Evernote in my day to day life, being it to snap some important news articles from the paper, store receipts, receipes and so on. Must have app to organize your life!

** Update**

They just added offine support and did a compleet overhaul on the UI. Bumping it up to 5 stars, Evernote did a great job!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

free texting

  • App review for WhatsApp Messenger
  • Posted by arvid October 24, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Students or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Great app that can save you loads of money. With this app you can text for free and it works perfectly. Most of my friends either have an iPhone or an Android device which makes it really useful.

The app saves the battery (no battery hog), allows you to send pictures and videos and provides a good overview of the messages that have been delivered and viewed.

This is email/sms/mms all in one!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fastest barcode reader on the block!

I often use this barcode scanner for its speed.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love the concept, but Google Goggles needs to de-fog

I love Google. I love their Labs projects, and I really got behind the concept of Goggles. I mean, really. Searching with pictures? Love this. I've even seen really cool results when my friends have used this app.

But for me? Nada. Maybe I'm not a great photographer, or maybe I'm choosing the wrong subjects. Something just doesn't quite work.

It took me about four tries to snap a photo that the app could recognize. At Goggles' suggestion, I used the crop tool to remove anything distracting, and took the clearest possible photo of the AT&T logo on my tv remote. And...the result that was returned was a basketball.

Maybe Google needs prescription goggles?

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Lots of Good Info - Widget is Great!

  • App review for Mini Info Classic
  • Posted by dugn October 19, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Students, Career People or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Use the widget to see battery, memory and SD card space at a glance (takes a double-wise widget spot) or tap the widget or app to see details of your system including battery, phone memory, SD memory, CPU usage, RAM usage. It also has quick buttons to see the state of (and turn on or off) your bluetooth, wireless, GPS, volume (adjustment) or brightness (adjustment).

Probably the cleanest looking and highest functioning app to quickly view and change your primary mobile settings. Highly recommneded.

A donation of $2 rids you of ads, which I'm glad to do for this helpful little app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not worth the $$$

The ten-day free trial of this comprehensive fitness/health app is nice, but I can't justify buying a full version when something like Diet & Food Tracker does the same stuff just as well.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

AppoDelicious

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by fremdelafrem October 19, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Dig it, dig it dig it. Makes managing my apps much more manageable and gives me cool recommendations based on my download history. Kinda like Tivo recognizing your habits and recording shows for you. Any app that syncs with a website has my support.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Captures The Best of CNet

  • App review for CNET
  • Posted by dugn October 18, 2010
  • Recommended for News Junkies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Good interface. Plenty of great CNetT content. Category bar at the top could be a little wider. But nonetheless a good, solid app fro reading the latest CNet news.

Additional features include being able to Twitter a story right from the app as well as sending feedback on a story.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

No Fuss - No Muss

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by dugn October 17, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Book Readers, Gamers, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

It does what it's suppossed to without a lot of unnecessary overhead or screens. It does the job well and makes it super easy to catalog your apps and interface with the Appolicious community.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The answer to iphones music player on android

  • App review for PlayerPro Music Player
  • Posted by etherealglimpse October 16, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I love this app. It organizes my music very pleasantly. It has a version of cover flow. The now playing window is very nice and smooth. The graphics fit my phone's screen perfectly. The controls are nice and big so its easy to select what to do. The album art is presented very beautifully. Over all the controls are easy to access and use. The music is well-organized and you can create playlist. It's worked so well for me I honestly don't want to use another music player. I'll try them but I'm not sure I'll switch permanently.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

great air fighter game

Great airplane fighter game. Set in WW2. Easy controls, beautiful graphics considering the platform. Plays well and is easy to control. Could us a bit more features but overall if your into airplane fighters, this is the one to get.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Whimsical, fun, and steamy!

Drawing on steamed-up glass? Fun. Drawing on your steamed-up Android device? Also fun.

Plus, there are two things that you can do with the Steamy Window app that you can't do with a real steamed-up glass:

You can undo your drawings (in a super nifty way -- by blowing into the microphone!).

and

You can save your art to your device's photo gallery.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The name says it all

If you need to know your heart rate for fitness or health then this Free app is a must have. It uses the camera and flash to measure your pulse rate, without the need to reduce blood supply or strap a band over your arm. This makes the app very child friendly and easy to use, given the cost of such medical devices this can be a real money saver. Does exactly what it sets out to achieve.

By being able to turn on and maintain the flash, this means that the app can also be used as a handy high-power emergency torch.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Does what it says it will do

I have no reason to constantly monitor my heart rate, nevertheless, it is still interesting to see what is every now and then. It does not give any indication if the rate it measures is good or bad, so some outside research will have to be done to understand the meaning of the rate you get.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great App

The first app I found that allowed me to enter my favorite stream's URL in addition to the ones preassigned.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

its a talking alarm clock

Just got this today. I have been playing with throughout the day and I am impressed. It handles multiple alarms with multiple choices for the alarm. You can have it play sounds, music or talk. It has a lot of options for snooze. You can even set it up so you have to do a math problem before you turn the alarm off, I probably won't use that feature. Not really my cup of tea when I first get up. The looks aren't much to look at, but it will do the job.
T

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Awesome!

  • App review for Dropbox
  • Posted by Nekoyoubi October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Book Readers, Gamers, Parents, Students, Music Fans, Career People, Social Butterflies, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Absolutely amazing. Works like a charm. I don't know how I lived without this app.

There is no excuse not to have this app. It not only is free, it syncs up to 10gb for free (2gb if you never tell a soul about it), and does so transparently (and quickly).

It's also a great way to share photo albums, as they have a built in system for automatically sharing albums that are placed under the 'Photos' directory that comes pre-installed.

I use this to sync my work, home, and phone all complete with a free backup service that retains copies of your file changes for up to 30 days.

You can share a file straight out of your computer by way of a link that is generated for you. Also, other people that use the service can share folders with you that constantly sync between all parties for a team-based approach to file management.

If this review has peaked your interest enough to try it out, feel free to give you and I both an extra 250mb of space by using my referral link. I don't want to be spamming though (hence why I put this at the very bottom), so if you don't like referral links, how would I know any different? ;)

http://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTEyOTUxNTU1OQ

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Whats that song?

Ever hear a song on the radio and want to know what it is? This app is for you. Just open the app, push a big blue button and hold it to the speaker. 30 seconds or sooner you will have more info on that song than you probably ever need. It even tells between a remake of a song from a different artist.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best of the message apps

  • App review for chomp SMS
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek October 08, 2010
  • Recommended for Students, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I've tried several stock message replacement apps, and Chomp is definitely my favorite. Hnadcent force closed on me one too many times. I like the customization options for both the visuals and the notifications.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Handy for the serial downloader...

...or picture taker, video taker, music syncr, or anyone who likes to have EVERYTHING on their phone. This little 1x1 widget keeps you posted about the memory levels on your hard drive and SD card.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No