Android App User Reviews

Space saver

  • App review for AppMgr III (App 2 SD)
  • Posted by Saperle November 09, 2010
  • Recommended for Students, Career People, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This free app is a lifesaver when you need to make more space for new apps but don't want to go through the clunky settings menus one by one figuring which ones you can move to your SD card. The layout is simple and lets you know what you can move, as well as what you can't, and what you already have. Even more, it notifies you after you've updated an app when there's another you can move over.

I will say I've had this app crash on me once or twice, but considering how full I let the phone get before trying to use it, I'd hazard to say it's not entirely it's fault.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Keep track of your exercise

Keep track of your exercise. It has GPS so you know where you are at all times (great if you are camping or out of your neighborhood). It keeps track of how many steps and how far you walked. When you are done it will tell you how many calories you burnt off and able to save that session.
I used walking as an example. This app also tracks: running, Treadmill running, Biking, Stationary biking, Aerobics, dancing, Elliptical ( i will have to Google that), Hiking, Horseback Riding, Outdoor/indoor inline skating, Kayaking, Pilates (Google again), outdoor/indoor skating, sking, Snowboarding, Outdoor/Indoor Swimming,Team Sports, Weight lifting, Yoga and Custom.
If you use this app more than I, they have a pay version to offer too.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Seemed Good, until...

I really enjoyed this application until I made the password for when the phone is lost to: l/s and it accepted the text message to enable the security but would not accept the password to unlock the phone. So, developers, if I can't put a / in my password, please disable it.

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

One phone number to rule them all

  • App review for Google Voice
  • Posted by etherealglimpse November 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Parents, Students, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I love google voice. It allows me to use my google number and that in turn rings all my numbers. I can use it to collect voicemail and google will make transcript of that voicemail. It allows text messaging to phones. It really is a life safer and a great way to communicate. You can make calls and receive calls. It works and its free. Google really bought a knock out service with this one.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Medication Reference Tool

For those of you that use Medication, this is a must have app. First you must register (free) and create a user name and password. During your registration it will ask for your job occupation with a list of only medical jobs. You don't have to lie, just scroll to the bottom to find Other-Consumer.
This App has a complete medication reference. It also has:
- Interaction check (make sure there is no reactions between meds)
- Pill ID (Identifies a pill by markings, colors, shapes, etc.),
- X2 Calculators (some I recognize like body mass index, Ideal body weight, others you probably recognize if your in medical field)
- Tables (I have no idea. I have been really healthy all my life, thank god, so I am not familiar with a lot of this terminology)
-History (keeps track of what you already looked up)

What else can I say besides it is free

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Stinks

The only reason I'm saying this browser stinks is because it will not show .aspx videos or silverlight videos based on microsoft. I can't view my home video cameras from my phone, which totally stinks.
I'm overall just not impressed with what this browser brings to the table. Half the time it doesn't even render videos correctly.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Could have wrote this review an hour ago....

......... if I could have stopped playing this game. I never even heard of Angry Birds before, never mind playing it. I figured I had to play it before writing a review about it. Well, it is very addictive and challenging. One thing I like about my Android is simple little games that will keep me entertained when I have some extra time to spare and this one fits into that category easily.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Let the calendar NAG me..and snooze it.

  • App review for Calendar Snooze
  • Posted by arnold November 03, 2010
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Parents, Students or Career People

Very handy and great working app.
The default calendar notifications just suck...

Without this app it only reminds me 1 time of a apointment..and i could only snooze it for 5 min...
That's the only thing i missed from my wm phone..

But with Calendar snooze , it will nag you all you want..and you can snooze it for any time (with fast presets..and custom times)

The notification is completly configurable with sound,led,wake and even speech....

I'm Loving it :-)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Mostly my fault

I'll take the blame for paying for this app and not totally reading it. I was under the impression it would be a calendar widget but it's most certainly an agenda widget. No calendar options. I wanted a nice customizable calendar and now since I paid for it I refuse to uninstall it.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great addon

  • App review for Bookmarks to SD
  • Posted by arvid November 02, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Great addon for the Dolphin browser! Saves your bookmarks to your SD or even syncs them with google! How cool is that! :)

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best one for me

so far. It does texting just fine. You can set it up to use balloons if you like (actually installs that way). I would have given it a 5 if it had an auto responder built into this program. Other than that it keeps track how many messages you sent, ability to save, etc. Really more than I need.
I am still in search for a good SMS with an auto responder built in.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Foursquare

  • App review for Foursquare
  • Posted by drose1305 October 31, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

OK version for the Andriod however a few UI niggles and generally times out a lot (but this could be the back end rather than the app).

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great video chat over 3g and wifi

  • App review for Tango Messenger, Video & Calls
  • Posted by etherealglimpse October 30, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Social Butterflies, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This video chat app is the best right now. I really love it. I can video chat across platforms, iphone, android and it works over 3g and wifi. The quality of the camera is actually pretty clear over 3g which is why this one is currently at the top. It supports speaker phone and using both front and back cameras. I took away a bar because they still need to work on battery life issues across some phones but they have issued fixes for a lot of phones really fast so if yours is affected don't fret a fix is on the way. It is really easy to use, its only video chat, no other connection to anything else.

It adds your contacts to your buddy list automatically so whoever in your contacts got tango will show up. It's so easy to use that It's really hard to give it 4 stars but I have to cause without a battery I have no phone in the first place! The rest is great and you won't look elsewhere for video chat.

The next thing needed is phone -> pc video chat. Let's get that going!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great home replacement

  • App review for LauncherPro
  • Posted by arvid October 29, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

It is a great app to replace the standard homescreens on your Android device, it adds those little features which you are quite often missing. I do have the feeling it slows down my phone a bit.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Epic!

This app is epic! There are no games with the app but you can find the easily! Do save them to you SD-card to save the space.

I was never able to run an emulator on my PC but now with this app I can play all those forgotten games again!

Well worth the money and a great way to pass time!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Entertaning

I would not say this app, is fun so much, but rather highly entertaining. I love the puzzle of trying to guess what goes together. It works great on the Droid X - no force closes at all.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good deals and lots of stores

Downloaded the app last week, and have been very happy. I used it at Kohls and Childrens place and got about $30 in discounts. The cashier accepted the coupon.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Stay on top of the power management

There is still much to do about task management and whether it has a real affect. Since Froyo, the
older task management programs stopped working as Android doesn’t allow third party apps anymore
to kill services or tasks. Whether Android does a good job in managing tasks/services, I don’t know but
sometimes I do wish I could kill a specific task, just to free up some memory or stop it from consuming
data.

As the app is free, I would recommend you to give it a try and see whether your phone gets quicker and
consumes less battery. You don’t have to be really tech savvy to use and understand ATK. When you
are fine with Android managing your tasks there is no real need to install this app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Stay on top of the latest news

  • App review for NewsRob (Google Reader / RSS)
  • Posted by arvid October 26, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Book Readers or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

NewsRob offers two different flavours, the free version and the pro version. The pro version adds some
features that are more specific to powerusers and removes the adds. My suggestion, go for the pro
version after you have trailed the free version for a few weeks. You are going to love it.

After trying several other RSS apps, NewsRob to me is the big winner. The 5 euros is well worth the
spend and the developer is always interested in hearing what you think can be improved.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Capture anything you need to remember!

  • App review for Evernote
  • Posted by arvid October 25, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Parents, Students, Shopaholics or Book Readers

This app is an extension of the website and allows you to snap anything you need to remember just with your phone. The app integrates seamlessly with the website and allows you to quickly access notes that are already in the cloud.

You can also search the stored notes from within the mobile app and use the OCR-functionality of Evernote.

I use Evernote in my day to day life, being it to snap some important news articles from the paper, store receipts, receipes and so on. Must have app to organize your life!

** Update**

They just added offine support and did a compleet overhaul on the UI. Bumping it up to 5 stars, Evernote did a great job!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No