Android App User Reviews

Stay away

I downloaded this app after a few minutes I started to get an internet pop up which got progressively worse, finally tracked it down to this app, once I killed the process it stopped.

7 of 8 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I <3 Appolicious!

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by Nekoyoubi October 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This is a great site/app/community for Android. As we all know, the market isn't what it should be for weeding through the scamware and fakes, getting decent reviews, or carrying on conversations about your apps. Appolicious meets that need and then some. Thanks so much, guys. You are great!

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Ok...BUT

I work for a cell phone carrier, and unfortunately although it may protect against viruses, it also is constantly running. I see and sell a lot of android devices, and if any of them come in with a problem, a lot of the times it has this program installed. The problem with lookout is it runs the battery down because it never goes off. We have also seen it cause a lot of problems with messaging applications and the phone running slow or even freezing. I, and the rest of my coworkers, almost have to treat this app the same as we do third party ring tone companies such as myxer and others that can cause major problems with the phone. I strongly recommend not using it despite the great reviews, eventually you will have more problems than it's fixing.

4 of 7 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

YOUdrive is a virtual assistant that makes you save fuel and rewards the best drivers of the community

  • App review for A+drive
  • Posted by Gianmarco March 22, 2013
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Career People, Social Butterflies, Sports Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This app is a great traveling companion, keeping an eye on our driving style and offers you, thanks to the voice of Julia, useful tips to fix it, to save fuel and drive safely (Julia alerts you if it detects a dangerous behavior and enables you to avoid risks and fines!). You can choose your language, Italian or English.
The driving experience, with YOUdrive, is something to try: through the dashboard of the app you have quick access to the main features of the phone, such as call and navigator, and you can share your position with your friends at any moment. Also you are constantly informed about the quality of your driving behaviour through the score displayed on the dashboard, elaborated in real time: the better you drive, the higher the SCORE is and faster you climb in the ranking of the best drivers (winning virtual medals every day), so you can become "expert" or even "GURU" of the green driving! The app is free and is available on the Android market or on www.youdrivenet.com

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Hipstamatic for Android, but better

Vignette is an awesome camera app replacement that, like Hipstamatic for the iPhone, creates retro effects on your pictures. It doesn't have the fun UI of Hisptamatic, but it's got a lot more under the hood.

Like Hipstamatic, you can apply really great looking toy camera and retro looks to your pics. But, in addition to having many more built-in effect than Hipstamatic, Vignette also lets you tweak settings and save them as your own custom "favorite" effect.

But perhaps the best thing about Vignette is that applying an effect isn't a one-shot deal: after you take a pic, you can change things up, even save multiple copies of the same picture with different effects applied.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

All the app I had it suggested I download

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by iharleyquinn September 12, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Instead of recognizing the apps I had so I can import my library instead of doing it manually(which I had to do anyway....), it suggested i download it along with other apps for suggestions. Honestly till this is fix I will just do it via web.

-HTC EVO 4G

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just another eReader...

  • App review for Kobo
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek August 23, 2010
  • Recommended for Book Readers

...great, but it doesn't stand out.

Kobo is the new guy in the eReader game, and as such is still experiencing that mother of all limitations - an inferior library. Other than that, it's pretty much hand-in-hand with the Nook app, although Borders readers may find this more convenient for sync purposes. It also offers the clever night/day reading option, but fails to allow sideloading the way the Kobo hardware does.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Of Course I Love This

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by sharakarasic August 23, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

...but it does really, really rock. The Appolicious Android Apps app allows you to import all your apps on your Androd device to your Appolicious app library so you can share them and get personalized recommendations. You can easily rate your apps and search for more apps.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Overclock, Underclock

This little widget is a great power saver. It basically allows you to determine how much or little power you want your phone to use based on what you're doing. I clock my power WAY down when the phone sleeps - something the phone itself wouldn't normally do since it's always looking for notifications. This app puts you more in control.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Almost too easy to spend...

  • App review for eBay
  • Posted by GirlGoneGeek August 13, 2010
  • Recommended for Shopaholics

The full eBay website renders pretty well in most mobile browsers, but this app is a quick and easy alternative to the constant pinch-and-zoom you’d have to do to check out items on full Internet. The interface is simple and includes all the basic functions like search (and voice search) and filter. A quick tap on the item takes you to the full listing - still in the app, it doesn’t open your browser. You can sign in, watch items, bid and buy items on the app just as easily as on the website. I find it a faster load and a quicker navigation than using the site in the browser.
It only took five minutes to choose and buy a case for my Evo the other day. Go on, eBay. Encourage my bad habit. This is scarily simple.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A must have

  • App review for Discover Islam
  • Posted by thinkislam January 07, 2012
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Book Readers, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers or Social Butterflies

It does what it says. This is an invaluable tool for Muslims and nonMuslims alike. Its truly an Islamic encyclopedia which readily provides answers.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Must have social app

I can access Facebook, Twitter, G+ using Social Plus !

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

keep up with android apps W/this...

  • App review for Appolicious
  • Posted by dinnison1 February 05, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

A must have app for info about android apps and discussions about using them. Also by joining up you can keep an online library of all apps you have and apps you wish for in the future.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Google driving assist

  • App review for Car Home
  • Posted by arvid January 30, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors

starting screen for Google Navigation, giving you the most frequently used screens in your car on just one screen.

safe and easy to use while operating a car!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

best solitaire

  • App review for Solitaire Challenge
  • Posted by joshdensmore January 12, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers, Students, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I love this solitaire game. It's exactly what it says it is, simple and classic. I've tried a bunch of the solitaire games but since i only ever play klondike solitaire I like that this game doesn't come with a thousand things I'll never play. It looks so good, the colors are nice and it's really easy to see the suits unlike some other games. They've made it really easy to move the cards around too. Works awesome on my HTC Dream (aka old and crappy phone).

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Media App

This is my all time favorite media app as of now. The biggest reason being the dev support. I have contacted him several times with a few questions and or problems. He has been very quick and prompt to respond and accurately answer and of my questions or problems. This app includes automatic album art download with works quite well. Along with tag editing which I do believe you have to get the premium version for which after my interactions with the dev I had no problem buying to support his work. Has played every audio and video file I have thrown at it and allows you to select individual folders for media scanning opposed to most apps just scanning your media folder or worse scanning your whole entire card and ending up with a ton of tiny sound files from apps and what not in your music collection.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Have to admit...I'm amazed!

  • App review for PdaNet+
  • Posted by jimd41 October 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Sports Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I agree with @arvid. This is an amazing app! Step-by-step set-up instructions make it an easy process. Download app, download computer side application, configure (simple), connect and you're there. I installed the pc side client on a 32 bit and on a 64 bit machine. Both work flawlessly and the connection is FAST! Even sites with photo images load quickly. If you think you might ever be out of range of a hot spot give it a try. Think I'll be upgrading to the paid version soon. Motorola Droid

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

If you love text messages you will love this app

  • App review for Handcent SMS
  • Posted by Tristan77 September 29, 2010
  • Recommended for Book Readers, Gamers, Students, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I will start saying that after getting this app I stop looking for other apps that manages text messages. The customization that this app allows you to have is AMAZING. You can even customize different settings for each of your contacts. The notification pop up let you quickly answer a text message and is very customizable too. It also has a widget that shows your messages in one of your home screen. You can change the conversation list to look like in the iPhone and it even let you fully customize the bubble messages with a lot of settings. You won’t be disappointed with this app.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Amazing set of features squashed by constant force closes

Let me be clear about one thing: Waze has every feature you could want from a GPS. It supports location-based chat, has a good GPS navigation function and lets users submit locations like speed traps and traffic accidents. It even lets you run over randomly placed virtual cupcakes for fun. Unfortunately, it crashed the first time I used it, crashed the first time I tried to use the menu, crashed again when I tried to plot an address and partially crashed when trying to navigate about town, with the graphics frozen but the audio still directing me around. Additional adventures proceeded when it refused to believe my destination address existed, which is odd since they are using the google maps API and google maps can find the address easily. On the plus side it did let me set options for my GPS marker, route preferences and even what icon I would show up as to other users. It would have been a great app if it didn't shut down constantly.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Cool but complicated

  • App review for Layar
  • Posted by kcooper11 September 28, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I like this app a lot and if shows off Android's computing power well but there are simpler and easier apps to find new places to hang out or find a place you are headed. It's neat but not a staple in my library.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No