User Reviews for: Instant Heart Rate

Twohundred

Instant Heart Rate

4.5 of 5 bars
Submit your rating!

completely straightforward

  • Posted by jelagasse May 06, 2011
  • Recommended for Students or Budget Hawks

This app does exactly what you think it does. Pros: turn your phone into a free heart monitor by placing your finger lightly on the camera lens. Cons: if you want to be able to continuously monitor your heart rate during a workout, you probably need to go a different route since doing cardio with a finger "lightly" on your camera lens could get more than a little awkward. This is better for heart rate spot checks peppered throughout a workout. For the super serious cardio fiend, invest in a body bug. For the more casual fitness buff, this could be a useful tool

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Kind of imprecise but still works

  • Posted by taranasus April 18, 2011
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Outdoors Enthusiasts or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This is one of those "i'm gonna download it just to see if it works" app. You get it, you have a little fun with it (see if it actually works) but let's be serious. If you really need to monitor your heart rate you are going to get a professional device intended for that purpose.

Overall it's more of a fun little app than a tool.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Instant Heart Rate

  • Posted by droidbot1000 March 01, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers, Parents or Social Butterflies

For a mobile phone application, I think this app is relatively accurate. I found my heart rate to be a bit high, but the results were consistent. Additionally, I never knew that a pulse oximeter could track the changes of the surface of my skin every time my heart beat. Neat!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Works as advertised

  • Posted by diablolita February 15, 2011
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies

This is a really cool free heart rate monitor app. You put your finger in front of the camera and hold it there for 10 seconds and the app tells you your heart rate. It's accurate, it's quick, and it's easy to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Ok, your doctor might not accept it but its fun

  • Posted by etherealglimpse December 04, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, News Junkies, Foodies, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Animal Lovers, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks, Sports Fans or Film/TV Fans

I read that it measures the color of your skin to measure your heart rate, thus there are problems when you squeeze your finger too hard unto the camera. When you get it just right however, you do get a reading and to my surprise it has been accurate +-4 every single time and I sure did played with this for a whole 2 days lol. I just couldn't get away from how fascinating it looks and how easily it worked. It's very easy to use app and measures really fast, only except in situations when you press to hard or too softly. Takes some practice. Don't tell your doctor you're using this for medical advice haha.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Neat but......

..... wouldn't rely on the number as being accurate. I would put this in the same category as Metal Detector. It seams to do what it says, but is it really?

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fun show-off app

  • Posted by Starlilie October 29, 2010
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies

I'm not sure if it's accurate but it sure is fun to play with and show off to your friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

And the beat goes on and on

  • Posted by arvid October 16, 2010
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

This app does not add any real value but it is fun to use and see what your heart rate is. It is not a very scientific method to do it but it does work somehow.

The app looks at the blood-flow through your finger and provides the heart rate.

Works as advertised!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The name says it all

  • Posted by nonfictionguy October 15, 2010
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Parents or Sports Fans

If you need to know your heart rate for fitness or health then this Free app is a must have. It uses the camera and flash to measure your pulse rate, without the need to reduce blood supply or strap a band over your arm. This makes the app very child friendly and easy to use, given the cost of such medical devices this can be a real money saver. Does exactly what it sets out to achieve.

By being able to turn on and maintain the flash, this means that the app can also be used as a handy high-power emergency torch.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Does what it says it will do

I have no reason to constantly monitor my heart rate, nevertheless, it is still interesting to see what is every now and then. It does not give any indication if the rate it measures is good or bad, so some outside research will have to be done to understand the meaning of the rate you get.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Heart Rate Meter

  • Posted by Rapier August 30, 2010
  • Recommended for Workout Junkies, Parents or Students

I must say that I really never use this app however it is a must for nurses. its amazing how accurate it is. phones with built in flash work the best. you put your thumb on the camera and the camera reads color changes everytime blood is pumped through your thumb. the software then calculates the heart rate per minute. its an excellent app and i say again, its amazing how accurate it is. My GP says he will dump his BB and get an Android phone, it has quite a few great medical apps and this is one of them.

If this review was helpful, pls rate it :)

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No


Recent Curated App Lists